Sport Bay of Plenty
Mount-challenge-GRX

Green Prescription Programme

Mount-challenge-GRX

What is it?

The Green Prescription Programme (GRx) is a six month healthy lifestyle support programme for adults. It provides support, motivation and information all designed to help you develop a healthy lifestyle through sustainable physical activity and nutritional changes.

Who would benefit?

People who are inactive: an inactive person is someone who does less than two and a half hours of moderate intensity physical activity throughout the week. Moderate activity is when you are breathing faster and your heart is beating a bit faster but you can still talk i.e. walking, biking on the flat.

People who have stable medical conditions: such as heart disease, hypertension, diabetes, mild to moderate anxiety or depression, obesity, arthritis, some respiratory conditions or at risk of cardiovascular disease.

If you are inactive or have medical conditions that are stable, a Green Prescription can help you get healthy and feel better at the same time. Moderate and vigorous physical activities are great for your heart and lungs, as well as your overall fitness and well being.

What I can expect from the GRx programme?

  • An initial consultation with one of the Green Prescription team to discuss your journey to a healthier lifestyle.
  • We will assist you to set physical activity and nutritional goals
  • We will link you to local physical activity and healthy food options that will work for you
  • We will support you in making healthy nutritional changes based on Ministry of Health guidelines.
  • We will continue to support and encourage you regularly for 6 months through follow up appointments, phone support or group sessions.
  • We will provide feedback to your doctor or nurse on discharge.

How do I get a Green Prescription?

Your doctor or practice nurse can refer you to the Green Prescription programme.

Client Experiences

Click here to read about Green Prescription client experiences.

 
 

Meet the Green Prescription Team

Jane

Jane Le Guay

Health Team Leader

janel@sportbop.co.nz

027 444 0694

Belinda-M

Belinda Muller

GRx Advisor (Tauranga)

belindam@sportbop.co.nz

027 554 1425

Danelle Stevens

GRx Advisor (Tauranga)

danelles@sportbop.co.nz

027 837 5221

Lisa-Te-Paa

Lisa Te Paa

GRx Advisor (Tauranga)

lisat@sportbop.co.nz

021 871 284

Lena Kairau

Active Families Advisor (Tauranga)

lenak@sportbop.co.nz

027 837 7351

Unknown

Larissa Cuff

GRx Advisor (Tauranga)

larissac@sportbop.co.nz

021 165 2426

Calvin Kingi

GRx Lifestyle Coach (Whakatane)

calvink@sportbop.co.nz

021 191 6544

Pam Higson

GRx Lifestyle Coach (Whakatane)

pamh@sportbop.co.nz

027 706 7099

Cathy Bell

GRx Advisor (Whakatane)

cathyb@sportbop.co.nz

027 702 2148

fiona-use

Fiona Cleghorn

GRx Lifestyle Coach (Whakatane)

fionac@sportbop.co.nz

027 554 1401

Karen Stanton

Active Families Advisor (Whakatane)

karens@sportbop.co.nz

027 554 1428

Renee-B-edit

Renee Bolkowy

GRx Advisor (Rotorua)

reneeb@sportbop.co.nz

027 290 0122

Verina-W-edited

Verina Wihongi

GRx Advisor (Rotorua)

verinaw@sportbop.co.nz

021 193 4767

©2016 Sport Bay of Plenty. All rights reserved. Sitemap. Privacy Policy. Web services by CG Design. Board Member Login.

x3 May 2016

Search