Sport Bay of Plenty

News & Results

Target shooting team take North Island title

Thursday, June 1, 2017


The Bay of Plenty/Waikato target shooting team claimed the title spot in the North Island Target Shooting Teams of Ten competition held in Napier recently.

The Manawatu team, who have secured the trophy for the last five years, placed second in a keenly contested finish, but Bay of Plenty/Waikato managed to adapt to the challenging conditions and secure a win, scoring a total of 3891.173 (with Manawatu scoring 3885.168).

The competition, which has been running for 56 years, sees the top 10 ranked shooters from each of the 10 North Island Target Shooting Associations go head-to-head for the coveted Rees Scroll. The Bay of Plenty/Waikato team was made up of shooters from Tauranga, Te Puke, Rotorua, Putaruru, Cambridge and Hamilton.

The second teams, ranked 11th to 20th, compete for the Jim Hart Trophy with five Associations entering teams this year - the Bay of Plenty/Waikato second team placed fourth in their competition.

Tauranga shooter Roy Herbison was the overall highest scorer on the day, posting an exceptional 400.25 out of 400.40. Rory McLeod of Te Puke was placed second with a score of 398.24 out of 400.40.

The 2018 event will be hosted by the Bay of Plenty/Waikato Association in Tauranga and will see some 200 shooters, managers and supporters in town for that weekend.

Any potential sponsors who would like to support the event can contact the association at

Other News & Results

x3 May 2016