Sport Bay of Plenty

News & Results

Tai Mitchell Tournament kicks off

Wednesday, July 5, 2017


Thursday marked the start of this year's Tai Mitchell tournament, where teams go head to head to claim the Tai Mitchell Shield and Bill Murray Trophy.

The Tai Mitchell tournament began in 1938, and is one of the most important events in the Bay of Plenty Junior Rugby calendar run by the Bay of Plenty Primary Schools Rugby Council.

This year two pre-season qualifying tournaments have been held splitting the 10 teams into two divisions one playing for the Tai Mitchell Shield and the other playing the Bill Murray Trophy.

The six teams that will compete for the Tai Mitchell Shield will be Te Puke, Tauranga West, Tauranga North, Tauranga East, Opotiki and Whakatane. The Billy Murray Trophy will be contested for by Galatea, Rangitaiki, Rotorua Maroon and Rotorua Gold.

While the tournament is all about the boys, this year’s tournament provides an excellent opportunity for young referees to also grow and develop. Ten referees from Waikato, Taranaki and Bay of Plenty will control the 25 games, under the direction of four experienced referee coaches.

The tournament doubles as a trial for the Bay of Plenty Roller Mills team, which will represent the province at the northern regional tournament against sides from Northland, Auckland, Thames Valley, King Country, Waikato, Taranaki and North Harbour.

The tournament will run from Thursday 6 July to Sunday 9 July.

Tai Mitchell Tournament History:
The Tai Mitchell tournament began in 1938. This year marks the 76th year of the Tournament. All boys attending the tournament are to weigh 53kgs and under.

Click here to view the Tai Mitchell draw and results.

Other News & Results

x3 May 2016