Sport Bay of Plenty

News & Results

Entries now open for Community Awards

Monday, May 15, 2017

Mayor Garry Webber with Erin and Sam Cartwright of Omokoroa Community Skate Group at the 2016 Trustpower National Community Awards.

Entries for the Trustpower Tauranga Community Awards and Trustpower Western Bay of Plenty Community Awards are now open.

Independently run in partnership with the Tauranga City and Western Bay of Plenty District Councils, the Awards are open to all voluntary groups and organisations working to make their community a better place to live.

The awards cover five categories; Heritage and Environment, Health and Wellbeing, Arts and Culture, Sport and Leisure, and Education and Child/Youth Development. Category winners receive $500, runners-up receive $250 and the Supreme Winner will take home $1,500 and an all-expenses paid trip for two representatives to the 2017 Trustpower National Community Awards, taking place in Queenstown in April 2018.

Tauranga Mayor Greg Brownless says volunteers play an essential role in keeping Tauranga a thriving city.

“Voluntary groups and community organisations are the very essence of a city and are just as important, if not more important, than physical infrastructure. When you become part of a voluntary organisation you become part of the community and part of improving the city’s wellbeing.

"The Trustpower Community awards provide recognition of groups who contribute to making our community a special place and give encouragement to their roles and goals."

Western Bay of Plenty Mayor Garry Webber says the district is brimming with talented and enthusiastic volunteers who deserve recognition.

“The Western Bay of Plenty District is such a diverse community, with so many talented, creative and caring people and community groups are truly the backbone of our community.

"I would encourage every group out there in the community that are diligently working away to enter - it’s a chance to be recognised and celebrated by your community for the hard work you do,” he says.

Anyone can enter a voluntary group or organisation for the Trustpower Community Awards – voluntary groups and organisations can even enter themselves.

Entry Forms are available from Council offices or service centres or can be completed online at Entry Forms can also be received by calling Abbie Siely on 0800 87 11 11 extension 8153.

Entries close Friday, 30 June, 2017.

Other News & Results

x3 May 2016