Sport Bay of Plenty

News & Results

EBOP Primary School Swimming Championships 2019 - Results

Friday, March 22, 2019

The Eastern Bay of Plenty Swimming Championships were held at the Whakatane Aquatic Centre on Wednesday 20th March.

Over 200 competitors took part in the event which has been held annually since 2011. Only nine records were broken this year in comparison to last year’s where a whopping 20 records were broken.

Swim Champs

There were clean sweeps from four of our Eastern Bay age group champions. Ngamihi Simpson from Tarawera High took out the 12 Year girls and broke five records, Caign Boonen of Apanui School won the 10 year boys, and Leo Collier from St Joseph’s Whakatane won the 11 Year boys and Holly Rowland of Awakeri winning the 10 year girls.

Other record breakers were 8-year-old swimmers Elena Marxen-Short of Ohope Beach and Savannah Macey of Apanui both claming two records each.

Thank you to Lesley and Chris for taking on the huge job of officiating the races and also to the timekeepers that also volunteered on behalf of their cluster groups.


Other News & Results

x3 May 2016