Sport Bay of Plenty

News & Results

Celebrating excellent lifeguards

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Celebrating excellent lifeguards

Eastern Region lifeguards will celebrate their achievements over a bumper summer season at the 2016 Zespri Bay of Plenty/Coromandel Awards of Excellence in Tauranga this July.

Club and Member Development Officer Chaz Gibbons-Campbell says it's been another huge season for clubs and they're looking forward to celebrating their top lifeguards and athletes.

“There have been some fantastic rescues this season and the Rescue of the Year award will be very close between Whakatane and Mount Maunganui in the Bay of Plenty,” says Chaz, “and for the Coromandel award, it will be between Tairua, Whangamata and Hot Water Beach.”

A new awards format was introduced in 2014, to reflect the growth in lifesaving in both the Coromandel and Bay of Plenty areas.

The lifesaving awards are now split between the two respective areas which allows for the recognition of more volunteers.

The three big awards for the night will be Lifeguard of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Rescue of the Year.

Bay nominees for Lifeguard of the Year are Jamie Troughton (Mt Maunganui), Shaun Smith (Papamoa SLSC) and Neko Appelman (Omanu SLSC).

The Coromandel nominees are Martine Smith (Pauanui), Tara George (Whiritoa) and Christiaan Maarhuis (Waihi Beach).

Nominees for Bay of Plenty Volunteer of the Year include Donal Boyle (Omanu) and Sandra Roy (Mt Maunganui), and for the Coromandel they are Jennie Gibson (Pauanui) and Susan Stewart (Waihi).

CLICK HERE to read more.

Other News & Results

x3 May 2016