Sport Bay of Plenty

News & Results

Celebrating Bay of Plenty Sporting Excellence

Monday, September 16, 2013

Celebrating Bay of Plenty Sporting Excellence

Nominations are now open for Secondary School and Open Categories in the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic 2013 Bay of Plenty Sports Awards.  The nominations are open until October 2nd at 4pm.

The nomination process gives the opportunity to nominate volunteers, coaches and athletes from throughout the Bay of Plenty region that have achieved great results in sport through the qualifying period of 1 October 2012 through to the 30 September 2013. 

The awards will be showcasing and recognising the superb sporting talent in the Bay, celebrating the people, clubs and teams that give the Bay its sporting identity.  The first Bay of Plenty Sports Awards was held in 1969. However, it wasn’t until the early 1990s, when Sport Bay of Plenty took over the stewardship of the awards, that they gained the prestigious reputation they hold today.

The calibre of nominations received for these awards, achievements of our local sporting leaders, officials and future champions never fails to astound the judging panel who describe it as a humbling experience to read through the nominations. 

This year the People Choice Award will be launched, a fun campaign for everyone to vote for their favourite athlete and also the chance to win a mini-ipad from Vodafone. Voting will open on October 25th and announced prior to the Awards evening.

The 2013 awards night will be held at the ASB Arena on Friday November 22nd.  All finalists will be recognised and winners will be applauded – leading to the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Supreme Award winner. Last year’s supreme winner was Lisa Carrington and previous recent winners include Gordon Tietjens,  Peter Burling and Sarah Walker. 

If you know someone whose name should be considered for these prestigious awards visit and download a nomination form or call into a Sport Bay of Plenty Office in Rotorua, Whakatane or Tauranga. Forms are also available in schools, clubs and other sporting organisations throughout the Bay of Plenty.

Nominations close 4pm on Wednesday 2nd October 2013.

BOP Principals Association Secondary School Service to Sport

Aurecon Student Contribution to Sport

Bay Cardiology Secondary Schools Girls Team of the year

Bay Office Products Depot Secondary Schools Boys Team of the year

CodeBlue Secondary School Coach of the year

Waiariki Institute of Secondary School Sportswoman of the year

Waiariki Institute of Secondary School Sportsman of the year

Canon Open Service to Sport

AquaPlus Club of the year

Bay Sports Med Team of the year

BayTrust Coach of the year

MoreFM Official of the year

Eves Realty Junior Sportswoman of the year

Vodafone Junior Sportsman of the year

ASB Sportswoman of the year

Bayleys Real Estate Sportsman of the year

Farmers Auto Village International Athlete of the Year

Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Supreme Award


For further information please contact:

Megan Cleverley

Sport Manager

07 578 0016 xtn 837

027 461 7219


Send SMS

Add to Skype

You'll need Skype CreditFree via Skype

Other News & Results

x3 May 2016