Sport Bay of Plenty

News & Results

2019 Bay of Plenty Sports Awards finalists

Friday, October 18, 2019

Women's White Water Rafting_web

Junior athletes, international sports stars, coaches, officials and volunteers are among the 74 finalists of the 2019 Bay of Plenty Sports Awards.

Now in its 51st year, the Bay of Plenty Sports Awards celebrates all aspects of sport from grass roots volunteers through to elite athletes.

Over 130 nominations were received for 17 award categories including the top honours of Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year and the Supreme Award.

Sportswoman of the Year finalist Eva Morris

Among the individual finalists for 2019 are Black Ferns captain Lesley Elder, synchronised swimmer Eva Morris, golfer Luke Toomey and All Blacks flanker Sam Cane who staged a remarkable comeback after suffering a broken neck in October 2018.

Finalists in the open team category include the women’s and men’s white water rafting teams who placed first and third respectively at the World Rafting Championships. They go up against the Tauranga women’s volleyball and Bay of Plenty women’s squash teams as they vie for the Team of the Year honour.

Team of the Year finalist Open Women White Water Rafting

Three-time Official of the Year winner Kelly Hudson from hockey and 2018 winner Greg Rieger from surf life saving once again make their mark in the officials category alongside Glen Jackson (rugby), Joanne Miller (surf life saving) and Sarah Garnett (hockey).

Triathlon features strongly in the Coach of the Year category with Craig Kirkwood and Chris Willett named finalists. They’ll go up against other outstanding coaches from surf life saving, rugby union and synchronised swimming.

Junior Sportsman of the Year finalist Tuhoto-Ariki Pene

Among the secondary school finalists are rising stars in rugby, volleyball, kayaking, netball, sport climbing and BMX.

Finalists and winners for the Service to Sport and Secondary School Service to Sport awards, which recognise individuals for their significant contribution to sport or school sport, will be announced on the night.

Club of the Year finalist Lake City Athletic Club

Sport Bay of Plenty sport manager Nick Chamber said the quality of nominations made the judges’ task very difficult.

“The number of nominations reflects the depth of talent we have across the Bay of Plenty and our passion for sport in the region.

“On behalf of Sport Bay of Plenty I’d like to thank all those who took the time to submit a nomination and we look forward to celebrating our sports community at the awards night on November 22.”


Purchase tickets to the 2019 Bay of Plenty Sports Awards

Bay of Plenty Sports Awards will be held on Friday 22 November at the Rotorua Energy Events Centre.

Purchase tickets


Finalists for the 2019 Bay of Plenty Sports Awards

Bayleys Sportsman of the Year
Sam Cane Rugby Union
Callum Gilbert Canoe Slalom
Luke Toomey Golf
Nathan Harris Rugby Union

Holland Beckett Law Sportswoman of the Year
Samantha Charlton Hockey
Rose Keddell Hockey
Lesley Elder Rugby Union
Natalie Peat Surf Life Saving
Eva Morris Synchronised Swimming

Donelley Sawmillers International Sportsperson of the Year
Peter Burling Sailing
Sam Meech Sailing
Luuka Jones Canoe Slalom

BayTrust Coach of the Year
Craig Kirkwood Triathlon / Athletics
John Bryant Surf Life Saving
Clayton McMillan Rugby Union
Chris Willett Triathlon
Lara Teixeira Cianciarulo Synchronised Swimming

Advocate Print Official of the Year
Greg Rieger Surf Life Saving
Kelly Hudson Hockey
Sarah Garnett Hockey
Joanne Miller Surf Life Saving
Glen Jackson Rugby Union

University of Waikato Adams Centre for High Performance Team of the Year
Tauranga Women's A Team Volleyball
NZ Men’s Racing Team White Water Rafting
Bay Of Plenty Women's Team Squash
Open Women's Racing Team White Water Rafting

Vodafone Junior Sportsman of the Year
Hayden Wilde Triathlon
Tuhoto-Ariki Pene Mountain Biking - Downhill
Lochlainn O’Connor Surf Life Saving
Tom Waldin Sports Climbing

Eves Realty Junior Sportswoman of the Year
Mahina Paul Rugby 7s
Shinae Carrington Water Polo
Emma Diprose Kick Boxing

Ebbett Tauranga Club of the Year
Mount Maunganui Surf Life Saving Club Surf Life Saving
Te Puna Rugby Club Rugby
Lake City Athletics Club Athletics
Rotorua Mountain Biking Club Mountain Biking

YMCA Open Service to Sport
Embargoed until Sports Awards evening

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology Secondary School Sportswoman of the Year
Kyra Mita Rotorua Lake High School Waka Ama / White Water Rafting
Olivia Cummings Otumoetai College Cross Country / Triathlon
Megan Williams John Paul College BMX
Molly Shivnan Mount Manganui College Swimming / Surf Life Saving
Khiarna Williams Trident High School Netball / Volleyball
Eloise Sharpe Tauranga Girls’ College Underwater Hockey

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology Secondary School Sportsman of the Year
Jack Egan Aquinas College Canoe Slalom
Finn Anderson Tauranga Boys’ College Canoe Slalom
Oliver Puchner Tauranga Boys’ College Kayaking
Henry Booker John Paul College Sport Climbing
Zachary Howe Tauranga Boys’ College Underwater Hockey
Jack McManaway Tauranga Boys’ College Volleyball

NZCT Secondary School Coach of the Year
Alex Fierro & Sam Thompson Mountain Biking / Cross Country
Kelly Saunders Otumoetai College Underwater Hockey
Ben Ormsby Tauranga Boys’ College Volleyball
Duncan By De Ley Tauranga Girls’ College Rowing

Bay Office Products Depot Secondary School Boys’ Team of the Year
Rotorua Boys' High School Golf
Tauranga Boys' College Underwater Hockey
Tauranga Boys' College Volleyball
Tauranga Boys' College Kayaking

Bay Cardiology Secondary School Girls’ Team of the Year
Otumoetai College Underwater Hockey
Otumoetai College Volleyball
Trident High School Volleyball
Tauranga Girls’ College Rowing

Aurecon Secondary School Student Contribution to Sport
Amy Brunt Western Heights High School Netball / Flipperball / Waterpolo
Lucy Turner Katikati College Netball
Michael Jones Whakatāne High School Rugby
Marujke Hattingh Mount Maunganui College Water Polo / Swimming

BOP Principals Association Secondary School Service to Sport
Embargoed until Sports Awards evening

Other News & Results

x3 May 2016